Does your resume pass the “So What” test?

I am perplexed. I am confused. I am frustrated. This is really a bad situation for me. I was just listening to Jack Canfield, author of “The Success Principles” and he was talking about “I am” statements and how they impact your thinking. Your “I am” statements should be positive and uplifting, but right now – mine are not.

I have been reviewing some resumes and I do not know what people are thinking. The purpose of your resume is to sell yourself to the reader and it is amazing how many fail. This is your story and you must tell it in a way that catches the reader’s attention immediately! Starting out 20 years experience blah-blah-blah; doesn’t do it. It’s boring and you imeediately lose the reader’s interest.

Can you imagine a newspaper story starting out like that? It sure wouldn’t sell many papers and it wouldn’t last long in the market. As with a newspaper, you must make your copy interesting! You need a headline that is going to get the prospective reader’s attention and draw that person into your story.

With everything you put in your resume, you should ask the question SO WHAT? If you can’t think of a great response that will entice the reader then FIX IT or GET RID OF IT! Can I say it any more bluntly?

This is your story; make it interesting!

If finding a new opportunity is a serious quest for you, then get serious about your resume!

Make your story sell!

Leave a comment